The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) is the main student organisation of the Sangh Parivar. It was founded in 1948 as a front organisation for the RSS, which was banned at the time. The ABVP contests students' union elections and has a major presence as the voice of the far right in university campus politics throughout India. Many current leaders of the BJP including Narendra Modi and Sushma Swaraj were active in the ABVP during their student days.

ABVP activism includes violent attacks on students (e.g., FTII attack, Sulia attack) and professors (e.g., H. S. Sabharwal, A. K. Chaudhary and Ashish Mehta). ABVP strategy also involves vandalism of educational institutions (e.g., Delhi, Jharkand) and violent disruption of events (e.g., talks by S.A.R. Geelani and Binayak Sen).


Religion, Caste and Politics in India, Christophe Jaffrelot, Primus Books, 2010.

• Articles on the ABVP on Communalism Watch and Kafila.

Articles on the ABVP on Narendra Modi Facts.