The BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) is the main political wing of the Sangh Parivar. It was founded in 1980 as the successor to the Bharatiya Jana Sangh. As discussed in this article, the BJP is ideologically and programmatically a communal party, although it may be opportunistically secular.

A number of BJP leaders were active in the Gujarat pogroms of 2002. Among the list were Maya Kodnani, sentenced to 28 years in prison for her role in the Naroda Patiya massacre (although later acquitted by a Gujarat High Court once the Modi government was in power at the centre), and Kishan Korani, another BJP MLA, and BJP and VHP leaders Bipin Panchal and Ashok Sindhi.


• Articles on the BJP on South Asia Citizens Web, Communalism Watch and Kafila.